A wet foxglove flower

The rain has been driving in on the wind for most of the day and I have watched the bees trying to manoeuvre into the foxglove flowers which were swaying like pendulums. The markings leading inside their flowers must look like landing beacons at airfields. Even when the flowers swayed the bee seemed to hold its position against the wind with ease, showing what an amazing flying 'machine' it is.

The flowers are quite spectacular too.  I purchased and then planted the foxglove into a pot when it was very small. Now it is six feet high and half of its flowers have already dropped off especially in the recent windy and rainy days. I'd placed it just outside the patio door which has let us watch at first hand as it grows and transforms its fascinating shapes and beautiful colours. I thought it was time to record bees at the same time as the flowers especially as it is a Tiny Tuesday challenge today, one of the few I try to join in with regularly. But having posted the bee first I now have decided to change the blip to the flower close up,one of my first shots of the day taken whilst it was still raining, showing greater detail of its decorations, colours and the water droplets. I like the small hairs which you can see on the landing strip.  I expect they have a special role in the pollination process, although I don't know the details.

So as an 'Extra photo' I've added the original blip of the bee leaving the flower after finding its pollen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.