Marsupium Photography

By magi

foggy outlook

The whole Brexit discussion is turning rather shrill and nasty. Reading the papers (highly selective) it seems the main issue is immigration. Immigrants are taking jobs and using resources that locals can't use. I do believe there are serious resource and job issues but I think that they are more to do with a few decades of neoliberal policy. Should the UK vote for Brexit these issues won't go away. And it's easy to imagine things would get worse with an unfettered right-wing Tory government.

I did vote for an independent Scotland. I believed there was a positive outlook with a plan to change to a more progressive and fairer society. This referendum is about fear and full of xenophobia.

I don't think a Brexit vote would be a huge personal problem. However, whatever the outcome, the discussion has been so nasty feeding xenophobic resentments that the UK, I have made my home half a lifetime ago, is becoming less welcoming.

Also strike day #3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.