Coconuts

These large sausages are made of coir which is formed from the husk of coconuts; you might be familiar with it as being used to make doormats. Here it is to be used to support the river banks which are being eroded. The posts are driven into the river bed and the coir bolsters packed down between the post and the bank. Eventually the coir breaks down but but by then it's hoped that the vegetation will have grown and will hold the bank in place.

Now, of course, you are wondering why I know so much about this stuff. Well.............. When I got back from buying some bread and milk there was this pile of stuff and a lady sitting with it. Of course I went and asked what it was all about and she told me. I mentioned that she was some distance from the river and she explained that the stuff had been delivered in a large lorry - in fact I passed it as I was heading to the shop - and the driver had dropped the gear here for her to shift. Thankfully her partner has a car and a trailer and they were shipping loads down to the river but even then it'll not have been easy as they were working well away from anywhere a vehicle might reach. She was only responsible for getting the equipment delivered so she didn't know when the work would be carried out but I might wander down next week and see how it looks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.