The way I see it.

By christinePears

Bow Fiddle Rock Portknockie

After a quick spot of painting this morning we were out the door by 11:00am and all set for a day of adventures. I love going to places that I have never visited and we aimed to get to Portknockie on the north east Murrayshire coast. We were tempted to go a little further and phase 1 of our adventure took us on a coastal walk at Cullen to a beautiful wild deserted rocky beach. The path was lined with wild flowers and the air was heavy with the scent of clover and wild thyme. We imagined that we saw whale jumping off the headland some way out but could not be sure.

We travelled onto Portknockie and the headland did not disappoint. When the sun came out it lit up Bow Fiddle rock which lay just offshore. Most of the nesting birds had left the rock but some still remained and the sounds of gulls and kittiwakes filled the air. I waited for an obliging gull to do a low fly past where I was sprawled out on the grass but they all took a sharp body swerve away from my camera when they spotted me. Sandra blipped me before I tried to get my seagull shot.

We traveled westwards on the coastal trail and passed through the villages and towns with the wonderful names of Findochty, Portessie, Buckie, Buckpool and on to Spey bay. Each of these north east coast villages has wonderful rows of fisherman's cottages gable end onto the sea, packed tightly together gathered round the harbour. Each one could have merited a stop and wander about but we wanted to visit the nature centre and tearoom at Spey Bay which did not disappoint.

Then onto Lossiemouth for a beautiful walk along the sunny beach and a stop for a pub meal before heading for home.

Another wonderful day packed with adventure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.