A Night at the Wright Museum

Dear Diary,

The Wright Museum is a museum of World War II history in Wolfeboro, New Hampshire 45 minutes from my house.  Back in 1997 I bought a commemorative brick with my dad's name and division on it as a present for his 79th birthday.  It was his last birthday as it turned out.

Last night I went to hear a first person presentation about Margaret Bourke-White, one of the first female war correspondents.  I have always admired her work and to hear the actress tell her story was fascinating.  What an amazing life she led.  I will never complain about carrying my "heavy" camera again!  She had to tote around 600 pounds of equipment!

I searched out and found my dad's brick in the entry way and it brought a tear to my eye.  I remember how moved he was with the gift.  I think it meant a lot to him that I cared enough to remember.  I think that is what we all wish for, really, to just be remembered; to know that our life mattered in some small way to someone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.