Transient Beauty...

Dear Diary,

I seem to be on a theme of impermanence lately.  The fleeting light, the transient beauty of a flower that is here one day and gone the next.  I find that what is happening in one's life is often reflected in what our eyes are drawn to in the world around us.  Today, is is the beautiful old fashioned Weigela bush at the end of my studio.  Every June it is a show stopping display of delicate pink blossoms.

The bees and butterflies are in love with this shrub too.  And this little Teddy Bear Moth went from flower to flower in sheer exuberance.  Impossible to "chase" it with my camera, I just focused on one area and waited for it to fly in.

I will enjoy the shrubs beauty for as long as it lasts...like the peony, it will soon be gone.  It is hard to think of the harsh days of winter when you are surrounded by such beauty but it too will have its day.  The important thing is to appreciate what you have when you have it I guess.


Come on sweetheart
let's adore one another
before there is no more
of you and me.

 Rumi (1207 - 1273)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.