Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Church decs for HM

Last night, as I said yesterday, was choir night.  We are a community choir, not a church choir, but we do rehearse in a church.  Going in there in the evening reminded me of how much effort most small churches went to for the Queen's 90th - flowers, photos, balloons even, festooned everywhere.

Last week, after a hot walk I stopped off in this little place to cool down.  A different church but such a lovely little medieval building perched on top of one of Winchester's city gates.  It's the pilgrim church.  This is where pilgrims used to give thanks for their safe arrival in the city, from Canterbury, etc.  Its name is St Swithun-upon-Kingsgate and it's featured in my journal before.

Anyway, last week when I was here the Queen's flowers were being put into place and the church given a polish.  Last night reminded me I should come back and blip before they were all taken down.  So this is where I went today.  It anyway seemed a good plan as there was rather a lot of weather around.  Plenty of sunshine but even more in the way of massive rainstorms.

If you're wondering, btw, the photos on the left are from the Queen Mum's scrapbook.

Hope you've managed to keep dry and happy today.  Have a good evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.