The Good Old Days

True to my word, I returned to the Amberley Museum and Heritage Centre today, accompanied by my brother's lovely girlfriend, Katja. A great day, especially getting to ride on this wonderful 1928 Southdowns bus. Of course, I had to ride on it twice; once upstairs, once downstairs. I also got to ride on an old steam train and view many other vintage busses, fire engines, cars and various other vehicles. Just great.

I was also fascinated by the two hundred years old printing press with dozens of drawers full of typeface blocks of various sizes. Why I found this fascinating is that all the typefaces are readily recognisable from modern word processing software. Great to see traditional arts carried on into the future like that.

Our train back was cancelled so we looked for somewhere to have a cup of tea. We saw a likely looking place signposted as Amberley Castle Hotel and Restaurant. It transpired that the restaurant is by appointment only, but they sold us a pot of tea and allowed us to drink it in a rather grand ante room. All very nice until I asked the price upon leaving. Nine pounds! Nine pounds for a pot of tea! I found out afterwards that the Amberley Castle Hotel and Restaurant is a member of the Relais and Chateux collection of the finest hotels and gourmet restaurants in the world so, looking on the bright side, I purchased a nice anecdote. I can't honestly say that the tea was particularly special though.

For verily I have walked in the footsteps of Sir Roger Moore

No. It's true. Watch this if you don't believe me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.