Island Life (1)

I left home at 6.45am to get the 10.50am ferry from Oban to Mull. It’s a 3 hour drive in theory, but the ferry doesn’t wait.

A 50 minute crossing. Flat calm.

Then the interesting bit. A 1 hour drive from the ferry terminal at Craignure to Fionnphort (pronounced Fin-a-fort). It’s classed as an A road. Well, it's single track all the way (with passing places) so I’ve seen better B roads!

It was fun. The scenery is spectacular.

Then the ferry from Fionnphort to Iona. 10 minutes.

I’ve been hearing about Iona all my life because of its place in Scottish history - St Columba bringing Christianity from Ireland. So, curiosity brought me.        

The Blip. I had about 20 possibilities. Eventually I went for one of the crosses in front of Iona Abbey - about 1,200 years old I think. 800 AD, or thereby.

Extras - the A road to get here and the ferry getting ready to leave Iona for Fionnphort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.