Going Global

English trees thriving
Cricket Hockey transplanted
Far side of the world

I nearly passed on the haiku today but then it came to me.  These trees remind me of Hagley Park in Christchurch the city I was born in.  It is known as a very English looking city or it was before the earthquake.  These oak trees are at the entrance to the cricket oval and hockey turf.  Games and plants from the northern hemisphere transplanted to our little islands in the South Pacific and all doing very well.
I have a cold and am losing my voice so I'm glad tomorrow is Friday.  I nearly stayed home today but on Thursdays I have a little art extension group.  They are so keen I didn't want to disappoint them.  It was worth it.  I get to paint along side them and we chat away about what interests eight year olds.  I can only just draw better than them :-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.