The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Keep calm and weigh yourself

...then eat chocolate! Of course it is much better to eat the chocolate AFTER the weighing! I did not have a 50p piece, so could not have a go.

We were at STEAM, the museum of the Great Western Railway, in Swindon. I was with Jena, whom I worked alongside at the State Language School in Zlin, then in Czechoslovakia, in the early 90s. She lives in Salisbury, and we meet now and again, most recently in 2014. See link


I am a sucker for the romance of the railways, and seeing some real engines in the sheds but not on the tracks, made me aware for the first time of their sheer size as well as their beauty. Do please go to STEAM if you are in the area and give two hoots.

Afterwards we found a convenient branch of a pizza chain for lunch, and then ventured into the designer outlet shopping centre, where the railway heritage is still visible. I bought some clothes. We tried to find a cash machine, and got lost. We wondered if we might be stuck in Yankee Candle-scented shopping hell for all eternity. Eventually we got lucky, and got out, and took tea in the National Trust HQ, Heelis, which is opposite. I resisted buying any Knick Knacks in the shop. I just want this on the record, y' know...

Then Jena took me back to the station, and I caught the train home via God's Wonderful Railway. Steve is in Bristol watching the footie, and I am drinking wine, feeling pleased that I have completed another piece of work related paperwork! I think I shall watch a documentary about Karl Marx, and have an early night. Rock and roll!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.