JuneFox

By JuneFox

Zebra and foal

This morning I headed over to Whipsnade Zoo for a blipmeet with good friend Beverley

Spent a wonderful day wandering around the huge grounds photographing the animals.  Lots of recent newborns including this zebra foal, one of two foals which are only three weeks old.  These Grevy zebras have much narrower stripes than the other zebra species and can live on grasses which are too tough for cattle to eat. They originate from Northern Kenya and Ethiopia. The zoo, under the European Endangered Species Programme, has successfully bred 26 foals over the years.  

Despite the poor weather forecast, we enjoyed a lovely sunny day with only a brief shower which lasted just a few minutes. However, we were extremely lucky - as we were walking back to our cars the heavens opened - luckily we avoided a soaking!

Not a great end to the day though.  Got in the car and noticed a card on the windscreen. Took if off thinking it was an advertising card, but there was a hand written note on the back - someone had hit my car whilst it was in the car park!  Checked out the car and there was a dent of the front wing by the wheel arch. It was too late to ring by the time I got home, so I rang today.  The guy was extremely apologetic and told me he had backed into my car. He gave me his insurance details - still apologising.  All I could say was that these things happen and that I was very grateful that he had left his details.  Sadly, there's many that would have just driven off without leaving anything! It's good to know there are still people around with a conscience. 

Anyway, I put it out of my mind as we finished the day with a leisurely dinner at The Greyhound Inn in the beautiful village of Albury.  Thanks Beverley for a great day out and a lovely dinner :-) 


Here's a link to some other images of the day on my ipernity page ...







 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.