A Shetland Classic

Shetland is doing itself no favours as far as his Lordship is concerned when it continues to blow a very strong wind ( as a Lowlander, I'm inclined to say a gale, but I know the Shetlanders have a different classification) straight from the Arctic and bringing rain with it as a side kick.

I have seen Shetland sparkling under an azure blue sky with the voes and lochs the deepest blue and the whitest of white waves crashing onto glistening black rocks, throwing spume high into the air.

Not so HL. On the occasions when I have brought him to these most northerly isles, he is treated to a north wind with temperatures in single figures and grey skies shedding horizontal rain. It might be forgiven if this time it were not the summer solstice and 'flaming June' into the bargain.
If there is an advantage to this for him I, then it must be said that he is looking forward to Orkney!

However all clouds have a silver lining, and our one today was having a delightful coffee with Blipper 'Lifeat60 degrees' in the Peerie Shop Café. This was followed by a blowy walk round the Knab.

We had intended having lunch in the Museum and meeting ZE1Christie, but the café in the museum was fully booked from 12-2:30 and our blipper was off on his lunch break. However I was determined, and by dint of finding an alternative eating place and waiting until my quarry came back, we finally introduced ourselves. It seems we were lucky to meet as he is off to Australia on vacation on Monday.

My blip is the classic one taken in Lerwick of a lodberrie which featured in many scenes in the TV drama 'Shetland'.My extra image is of a doorway a few yards past the lodberrie which never fails to amuse me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.