Huffin and Puffin

His Lordship and I were not the only ones thinking what a good idea it was to be at the summer solstice in the Northern Isles. Last night we shared  the MV Hrossey with 160 motor bikes and at least 300 riders. They made a formidable bunch in their black padded leathers covered in emblems and large boots as they took over the ship on the way north to their 'Simmer Dim' rally.

We had a cabin to ourselves and spent 12 hours rocked into a state of near oblivion by a rolling motion of more strength than I would have liked had I been up and about.

However we avoided sea sickness and managed breakfast before renting a car and exploring the south end of the mainland - coffee in Hoswick, a visit to the lighthouse at Sumburgh with a look out for puffins,lunch at Spiggie, a visit to St Ninian's Isle and the Museum in Scalloway.
His Lordship is now officially exhausted and horizontal.

Although we could see puffins very far away, this little fellow obliged for the camera, although the strong wind ruffled his feathers enough that he deemed it best to disappear out of sight and get back to the wife.

I cannot add extra photos while working on my I pad, and so once HL becomes vertical again I will try to post them using his I-book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.