Loading

16.2C bright and sunny. Moderate West or NW breeze.

When Maeve the Deerhound and I were out for our first walk of the day I decided to wander along as far as the ferry terminal. Friday is one of the days the ferry runs. When we got there the ferry was just finishing loading vehicles. The vehicle ramp was raised, and as we turned round to go home I could hear the start of the "welcome on board" announcement that will be familiar to everyone who has ever been on a CalMac ferry.

Late morning I went along the road to the local fish shop and got fresh Haddock fillets.

After lunch Maeve the Deerhound and I went for our walk. Runrig on the iPod Mini (The Story) then The Band from Rockall (The Band from Rockall). We went across the road and along to the esplanade then walked round past the marina and the two quays of the harbour. No boats at the new quay today, just a huge pile of wood which you can see on the left of my early morning photo.

We carried on past the ferry terminal and round the South shore of Campbeltown Loch, along the path in the park, then carried on out Kilkerran Road. We had a stop just before the cemetery. I had a seat. Maeve had a rest. Then we went round to Glenramskill, past the goldsmith's studio and went as far as the NATO jetty. I was hoping to see Gannets diving, but didn't see any. Just the usual assortment of gulls and one or two Oystercatchers and a Heron.

We came back the same way but went along the street side of the park and came back home through town.

I made fresh breadcrumbs and dried/toasted them in the oven and they went on the floured and egg dipped Haddock before it was lightly fried for dinner served with steamed veg and crispy thin sliced oven cooked potatoes. Do I have to tell you there was crisp dry white wine too :-)

E-PL8 f/10 1/250 sec. ISO-200 22mm

Note: The extra is Campbeltown from Kilkerran Road by the Goldsmith's studio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.