WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Gift

G brought me 2 kilos of surplus organic apricots from his son's orchard. Small acts of kindness are what the world needs.

In the Guardian, Polly Toynbee writes
"There are many decent people involved in the campaign to secure Britain’s withdrawal from the EU, many who respect the referendum as the exercise in democracy that it is. But there are others whose recklessness has been open and shocking. I believe they bear responsibility, not for the attack itself, but for the current mood: for the inflammatory language, for the finger-jabbing, the dogwhistling and the overt racism."

I'm appalled by the toxic atmosphere that permeates the referendum campaign in the UK.  On the same day Jo Cox was murdered, Nigel Farage unveiled a repulsive campaign poster featuring Syrian refugees in Slovenia, an image reminiscent of Nazi propaganda. There are even trolls on Twitter suggesting the murder was a "false flag" operation to discredit Brexit. I've just renewed my UK passport, but if the Brexiters win I will seriously consider tearing it up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.