HMS Royal Arthur

Today's the day ......................... to regret

Today would have been my Dad's 95th birthday.

I was thinking about him recently (as you do) because I was reading an account of the war memories of Win Hayhurst, a WREN Radio Mechanic in the Fleet Air Arm from 1941 to 1946.  It made me think about my Dad because I knew he was in the Fleet Air Arm around then.  As far as I know, his job eventually was to teach people how to mend radios - but he certainly knew all about radios, morse code and the like.

I know that he spent time on aircraft carriers and that he went to Australia, Hong Kong and the Far East.  But really it made me think that I actually knew very little about where he was and what he did during the 2nd World War.  I have quite a few pictures of him during this time, but I have no idea who anyone else is or where the pictures were taken.  I think this one was taken during his training because he looks quite young.  That's him smiling, to the right of centre in the row of five.

I so wish that I had asked him about it all, when I could have...................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.