fs2012

By FrankS

Picnic in the Park

We drove over to Leamington Spa this morning for coffee with Maureen and Ian. Unfortunately we'd forgotten that today was the first day of the rock festival, Global Gathering, held just outside Stratford at Long Marston. This results in total traffic deadlock in Stratford plus all approach roads.

We worked out a back roads route home and were lucky enough to avoid most of the traffic, though one or two sharp eyed motorists spotted and followed us to Stratford.

Today is, of course, the day of the 2012 London Olympics Opening Ceremony. Stratford had laid on a giant screen outside the RSC Theatre and invited residents to bring a picnic to Bancroft Gardens to watch the event.

We duly complied and met Emma for a food and wine on the grass, well, on a blanket actually, I took a chair.

There was as excellent turn out and a good time was had by all. We finally left just after ten when it was getting a little chilly and we continued watching at home on the TV.

I took lots of photos that will take a little while to go through, so I guess my blip will probably not get published 'till tomorrow.

Later: the ceremony did not finish until getting on for 1 o'clock so I will definitely not be posting this until Saturday.

Saturday: it was difficult to pick just one photo that summed up the evening, so I copped out and decided on a collage, thank you Picasa. I've featured Danny Boyle as the centre piece; for without him I believe the Opening Ceremony would not have had the same dramatic impact.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.