If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Penrith Castle

A mixed day.  Most of the morning taken up with mundane paper shuffling and organising my thoughts for an evening meeting.  Which went very well and more to the point on time.

I had to go into Penrith to pick up train tickets for a visit down to national headquarters on Monday and Tuesday.  I knew I needed a blip and had little opportunity so I took the camera with me.  I managed to find a parking space other than the 20 minute limited station car park.
This left me free to have a wander round the park before I headed off to Birds Bistro to get more seed for the bird feeders.

This shot is of the ruins of the castle from the town side showing the bridge over the moat.  Started in the 14th Century to hep defend the area against the marauding Scots it later became a luxurious residence of Richard Duke of Gloucester who later became Richard lll (the one who was found buried in a Leicester car Park).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.