If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

View from a Motorway Services.

Today I had to head down into Lancashire for an afternoon regional meeting.  On these days I usually treat myself to a half day at the Mere Sands Wood nature reserve.  I consulted the weather forecast and all NW England from about Shap down had severe weather warnings.  So I decided to give the reserve a miss.

Knowing I wouldn't have much time to blip owing to not going to the reserve I stopped at Killington Services.  I have previously stopped in the northerly corner of the car park where you can see over a fence.  Either I have been blind or they have been doing some development because only a few yards away there are 2 view points complete with picnic tables and benches.  Incidentally the lake in the past served as the "header for the Kendal to Lancaster canal now its 153 acres are mainly used for recreation.

It turned out the decision to not go to the reserve was a bad one the only severe weather I saw was round Forton on my way back.  Ah well you can't win them all!

Back blipped 9th June

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.