Flower Friday 17 Clematis

Today has been another of very variable weather: this morning I was able to actually dry some washing outside, but by mid afternoon the rain was back with some force. On the whole the garden has benefited and some plants and shrubs have clearly appreciated the extra water. On the downside, some blooms are looking rather battered by the constant heavy downpours and the populations of slugs and snails seem to have trebled.  This is the first year ever that they have consumed my Busy Lizzies (Impatiens).
Today I'm featuring one of my clematis which has lovely big flowers and looked rather pretty drenched in raindrops.  As an extra are the trailing petunias which are definitely only safe in hanging baskets as those snails and slugs consume them at top speed if they're planted at ground level.  My second extra is of the old fashioned rose which is planted next to the clematis.  By posting 3 pics, I've sort of fulfilled Biker Bear's challenge for this week!

 To day was Violet's last session at Sing and Sign.  If you have a moment you can see/read about it  here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.