Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Abundant thyme ...

I feel there's a pun in the title of this blip, audible rather than visual ... but after a blip-chat with Torag on the merits and uses of tarragon, I felt it appropriate to have a blip of my second thyme plant to flourish. The first, which stands on top of the vintage chimney pot just visible to the top left of the photo (it came off our roof 20-odd years ago), I grew from seed almost as long ago as the chimney removal. It's quite woody now, though this year I cut so much for cooking over the winter that it's fairly regenerated. This second one, however, was self-seeded in the pot below; this is its third summer and I'm delighted with it. So is the bee just visible on the right of the bush.

A footnote on cooking with thyme as fresh and as juicy as this: it spits like mad in hot oil!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.