Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Entertaining

Today has been so grey, so dull, so damp, so unutterably dreary that I didn't even consider taking a photo to blip. In fact, I forgot all about it until the very end of an excellent (though I say so myself) meal with friends from Alabama. This is the happy debris on my jolly French table cloth, one of these ones that never get dirty having been miraculously coated by some French process. You can see that the food was more important than the presentation, certainly towards the end when we were spooning yogurt out of the carton onto luscious strawberries, raspberries and blueberries. And did I mention the baby meringues?

The friends are interesting - visitors from Alabama that we first met some time in the 90s when they came to church and I invited them to come home with us for some decent coffee. We talked, we discovered many shared traits, and we've been friends ever since - a friendship based on a month over here most summers (because it's nice and cool, would you believe) and a memorable trip we made to the States which began with ten days of Alabama hospitality. They were here when 9/11 happened, we were there when we first heard of a prospective candidate for the presidency called Barak Obama.

But enough of this rambling. We've drunk, we've eaten, we've begun to catch up - it's been two years this time. Now I'm yawning over the computer.

Time for bed ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.