Hi There

Young Limpkin on the boardwalk at Sweetwater Wetlands Park here in Gainesville, FL. I have watched this bird and it's three siblings grow up. They are very habituated, today I walked within 2' of it before it squawked at me and flew down to the water below. I arrived at the park shortly after 7am, as it begins to get oppressively hot and humid by mid-morning. No mosquitos or no-see-ums thanks to a constant breeze. Things are slow and quite, typical of this time of the year. In today's 'Extras' you can see a Swamp Sparrow, which should not still be here. But this one looks rather bedraggled so maybe that's why it decided to remain behind when the rest of it's kind headed north. The second 'extra' is a 'Halloween Pennant' Dragonfly. And after looking closely at it, I can only assume that it's peeing, a 'first' for me! hahaha
Happy Father's Day to all of you Dads out there! :) And a Peaceful Week to You All.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.