Welcome to Absurdistan!

By MildlyOffensive

Mein München: B wie Barer Straße

My Munich: B stands for Barer Straße

The second entry of my Munich street series comes almost as natural as my first. Barer Straße is only one over to the east from Arcisstraße, the street I'm living in. Tram line 27 runs through the street north to south, and is the quickest way for me to get into the city center.

As it is the next parallel to Arcisstraße, it is running past most of the same sights: Neue Pinakothek, Alte Pinakothek, Pinakothek der Moderne, University of Television and Film (HFF) and State Museum of Egyptian Art, and Karolinenplatz.

Like Arcisstraße, Barer Straße is named for a battle of the War of the Sixth Coalitiom, this time the Battle of Bar-sur-Aube, one of the last battles before Napoleon's abdication and exile.

The image shows a tram 27 car at the southern end of Barer Straße, next to the Franz Xaver Gabelsberger memorial. I started out with selective colouring in my first entry of the series, so I might as well make it a theme.







"This may come as a surprise to you, but I'm not the super smart Allen Einstein that everyone thinks I am." - (Blue Mountain State: The Rise of Thadland)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.