Peony Proud

Dear Diary,

The Summer Solstice and my peonies are peak.  I hope some last until Saturday, they are such short lived, delicate blooms.  Technically, it is the first day of summer here in the northern hemisphere but I follow the Celtic calendar and for me it is mid-summer.  When the peonies bloom the summer has reached its peak.  I added an extra of a different variety of peony that is resting on the spiral sculpture.


Tomorrow the days will begin to shorten but no time to think of that as the final week of preparations for the garden tour begins.  It will be near 90F today so I will work a couple of hours early this morning.  The raised beds need tending to and the rest of the mulch arrives this afternoon.

I must confess that I am getting a wee bit worn out.  I will try to pace myself this week because I don't want it to be all about work.  I want to enjoy the fruits of my labor too.  A nice glass of wine on the patio this evening will be my reward.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.