*WELLIES

In the Garden Centre this afternoon.

Wait, don't go yet. I had an adventure after I took this. Across the road from the Garden Centre is a disused Victorian pumping station which I was photographing for a "Waterworks" blip, when a car pulled out of the entrance, stopped beside me and the driver asked what I was photographing and why. This is the first time this has happened to me, so I said I was interested in industrial archaeology (which I am) and architecture, and he said "I'm the owner. Would you like to see the Engine House?" He said he was on his way out, but he'd be happy to show me. Well, what would you have done? I accepted, and it was a breathtaking building. Unfortunately my little camera and flash just weren't up to the job, and I didn't want to keep him from his errand, so I only took a handful of inadequate pics which I've put into my Blipfolio here, here and here. I found some much better photos on the WWW here and some historical information here if you're interested. He's owned the building since 1992 and all his plans for it have fallen through because of funding, and now he just wants to be rid of it. I said I'd be in touch if I win the Lottery.

*alphabet challenge. X tomorrow - I'm onto it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.