Calstock Refugee Day

I had so many photos from the day but this seemed the most apt given the current situation. Each year as part of The Refugee Week The Angel who legally represents refugees in Plymouth  organises this Fun Day open to all in the village and the refugees.
I was not feeling that enthusiastic about the day - I really wanted a day just chilling at home! So I thought I would drop my stuff down for the children's room and lend a hand for a couple of hours then leave. Ha! I stayed all day!  There were not as many people from Plymouth but it being Ramadan and a miserable wet day that was not too surprising. Instead of a Tagine it was buffet food with salads, hummus, babaganoush,  potato wedges, Tabbouleh, samosas and onion bhajis, pitta bread and wraps. Plus cakes - so many cakes! I was put in charge of making up the takeaway boxes for those who were fasting. After this I went round taking photos to record the event and also hopefully to take some that would be suitable for helping to support  a grant application. I'd spotted a guy also taking photos and approached him to see if he would make them available to The Angel. He said he was not a "Professional" but he so was, and was a refugee himself as he worked in many areas of the world where the governments were not too happy with what he was exposing. 
Vegan Jo was there, along with Nellie of the Woods, Colourful Mai and Homeopathic girl amongst many others. Jo and I sneaked off to the lovely cafe in the village for a coffee and a chat as we had not seen each other for a while! When we heard the sound of the drums from the Big Beat group we headed back! 
Inside the children's room  I discovered the adults had discovered the dressing up hats and wigs and were having great fun trying them all on! Lots of photos taken!! A bit later a group of men started dancing and of course Jo, Nellie and Homeopath girl were right there joining in! More photos taken! 
The group who had arrived by train left and everyone else began to pack up - there were a couple of guys playing chess who continued playing as the hall was cleared! Finally the two minibuses left and it was just the kitchen to clear. I filled another takeaway box with food and finally headed up to Friend as it was my turn to feed her - ideal! After tidying her kitchen and catching her up on the events in the hall it was time for home and a bit of a rest before the chicken run!
A very good but tiring day! I think it was the best refugee day yet - so relaxed and we all  really enjoyed ourselves and had fun #RefugeesWelcome.
Loads of photos here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.