Mud, mud, glorious mud!

it was a wet morning on the allotment - raining on and off the whole 3 hours I was there! There comes a certain point when you really can't get wetter or muddier so I just carried on! I noticed the corrugated sheets I had moved were causing drips underneath and figured it was the holes that previously held screws in it's former life. So I grabbed a piece of plastic corrugated sheeting that had been protecting my old shed and put it over the holes. Looking underneath and still seeing copious drips I realised it was not the holes but the fact I had lain the sheeting on top of the roof of the chicken coop, so the rain running down that was pouring straight under the other sheet! This involved much maneuvering of the corrugated sheets to get it under and moving round from one side to another! Job done I then decided to give the girls a perch under their now waterproofed area - more messing about! I then spent ages trying to catch Nutmeg who had a dirty bum - much running round the coop! I then decided to clear the slurry around the coop -nasty, smelly, slimy mud and poo!  After this I went round the electric fence pulling away the wet long grass that would drain the battery. Doing this I found the redcurrant bush was covered in ripe berries - so grabbed a punnet from my shed and picked loads - fed a few to the girls too! After this I washed the mud off my waterproofs with the chicken brush! During all this I had been taking broody Henrietta repeatedly  out of the coop. Since she still persisted in sitting in the nesting box I decided to take her for a walk round the allotment, since a car ride in wet gear was not desirable! She clucked angrily for half the walk but then settled, but immediately ran back into the coop on our return! So I grabbed her out once more and holding her firmly gave her a swing in the hope of shocking her out of her broodiness this way! No idea if it would work but worth a try! Strangely it worked and she then preened herself and fed from the feeder! I have a feeling as soon as I left she went back in!
So finally home to strip off and find some warm, dry clothes! Rest of the day was spent doing the photos from the previous day. I really must suss out how to get the right white balance as it took me ages to do them! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.