Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Face-off

We spent the day at the Greenfield Valley Museum and Heritage Park, which is a small-scale, but nicely presented open air folk museum. The Cistercian Basingwerk Abbey is adjacent to the site, so we also had a chance to explore those ruins.

I could have brought you various bits of farm machinery, old buildings, or charismatic ruins, but just as we were getting ready to come home I witnessed this face-off between swan and collie. I can reassure you that the after shot would reveal the collie retreating up the steps with its tail between its legs, and neither party the worse for wear.

the hurried bark
of an anxious dog
the hiss
of a confident swan
brief encounter



Meanwhile, my first Green-veined White butterfly of the year in my Mum's garden, which on another day would have made a very nice blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.