TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

The Woodward Inn

Along the varying road of life, In calm content, in toil or strife, At morn or noon, by night or day, As time conducts him on his way, How oft doth man, by care oppressed, Find in an Inn a place of rest.
~ William Combe

In my meandering way, this evening found me passing by the Woodward Inn. The historic tavern, which is also known as the Stagecoach Inn, was built in 1814 in the Georgian style and the front facade features twin entrances, which is typical of early tavern construction in America
I was curious to know if it is still open to the public, so I did a little research. 
Although I did find a listing on resorts and lodges.com that describes the Woodward Inn as "the oldest continuously operating inn in Pennsylvania," I am a little bit skeptical since I haven't been able to find any additional information about it at all. 
I enjoy visiting historical places and would love to see inside this tavern, so I will definitely be doing a little more digging to find out what its current status is.
To be continued...  :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.