TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Brown-Headed Cowbird

This guy (named the brown-headed cowbird for obvious reasons) has taken to hanging out at the bird feeder positioned outside my dining room window. 
In actuality, he has virtually taken over the feeder at this point, driving all the other birds away and knocking on my window - All Day Long. 
As a matter of fact, as I have just learned, the brown-headed cowbird is somewhat of a nuisance in the avian world too. They are deemed "brood parasites," which means that the female lays her eggs in the nests of other small perching birds, particularly those that build cup-like nests.
I'm not quite sure exactly what this male's end game is but I've pretty much determined that either he is a narcissist who is in love with the image he sees in the window, or he is in a competitive singing competition with his own reflection.

You have gargled and bowed and proven you’re best
You are certainly hotter than all of the rest
Of the male cowbirds that are part of my crew.
So, darling cowbird, are you ready to do

What we cowbirds have done for thousands of years
And make more cowbirds to other birds’ tears?
You stood out from my coterie with your head of mocha
So come over here and let me show you my cloaca!

~ M. Ater, Desire

If you would like to hear the brown-headed cowbird's call, you can listen to a short piece here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ya4k8nXyfJc

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.