Annie and Chris

By AnnieAndChris

Luton or Liechtenstein

We started the day by packing up the car, leaving the campsite and the other family behind: they're travelling back by car via a bit of sightseeing. I (Annie) drove Chris, Immy and Rosie to Zurich airport via the Grimselpass and Furkapass mountain roads. The blip is Chris' of the Grimselpass - stunning scenery. Unfortunately the weather of last week returned and the Furkapass hid its stunning switchbacks and sheer cliffs with thick cloud. Chris was a bit nervous with my driving I think! I slowly edged back down out of the cloud and onto straighter roads just in time as car sickness and ear-popping was taking over the car. I dropped off my cargo at Zurich and our paths split.

Annie's trip: I am embarking on a 4-day trip back to the UK, but aiming to travel through 10 countries on the way. Today was Switzerland (easy - I was already there!) and Liechtenstein - the wonderfully odd 160 square km principality. I spent the evening planning an over-ambitious day for tomorrow, including Italy, Austria and Germany. I'm thinking Italy would be fun via a final Alpine pass - I hope the clouds are higher tomorrow.

Chris' trip: Unlike Annie, I am back on UK soil following a trouble free flight back to Luton with Immy and Rosie. Nice to come back to sunshine although sad to have left behind the beauty of Switzerland. It was the usual weirdness driving back on the left but following the drive earlier in the day, somewhat reassuring to be back to normality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.