Annie and Chris

By AnnieAndChris

A Change of Plan

A last minute change of plan over breakfast this morning for me (Annie). Looking at the very low cloud on the mountains this morning I decided today was not the day for the Stelvio Pass. I'd really wanted to drive the road, but I'll be patient and do it another time with the views.

I made an early stop in the Leichtenstein tourist office to get my passport officially stamped, then I headed off to Austria. I'm more or less driving to the UK in the next few days, but I wanted to make it 10 countries on the way by setting foot in Italy as well. So part way along Austria I turned right at random and found myself heading south to Lago di Resia. The sun came out as I crossed into Italy and by chance I stumbled on this amazing 14th-century bell tower submerged beneath a reservoir. Very poignant!

Time was ticking on, so I headed back through Austria towards Germany. The fuel consumption went down a touch when I hit the unlimited German Autobahns! I'm staying near the Black Forest tonight, having said a final sad farewell to those lovely Alps. I'll be back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.