Guggen-home Adventures

Well, sadly it's the end of the holiday. After I (Annie) took Chris and the girls to Barcelona airport in a car slightly more stuffed than usual, I set off north. My job today was to drive from the Mediterranean Sea in the south, up the height of Spain to the Bay of Biscay in the north. I will set out tomorrow from there on a ferry back to the UK, just in time for Rosie's birthday on Wednesday.

You may ask why Chris and I have taken to travelling separately - am I afraid of flying perhaps, or just don't like travelling with him? Nothing like that - we only have a fixed week with the girls, and I find that just isn't enough to unwind properly. Put that together with my sense of adventure and exploration, plus the ease of having your own car (and automatic luggage transportation), and it all makes a lot of sense. I drove the 1,000 miles down to Barcelona at the beginning of the week, and am ferrying back now.

I am in Bilbao, all ready for the ferry. Whilst there, I couldn't miss the fabulous Guggenheim building (seen in the blip) - looking truly stunning with the evening light glinting off it.

For me (Chris) then, a flight back with the girls from Barcelona to Luton. We arrived in good time and as we got off the plane the sun was almost out. As soon as we entered baggage reclaim we heard the rain on the roof and as the bags appeared on the carousel they were soaked!!! Thankfully ours was waterproof enough.

Through the door and once I'd said hello to Yogi it was almost straight out the door again to lead a run at the running club. Nice to be back in the groove quickly.

May we just say how proud we are of Kayleigh, who is my (Annie's) best friend's daughter and has reached her 365 today. What a fabulous achievement to keep it going. Well done, Kayleigh - we're proud of you. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.