Hippo Parade...

That's me an officially trainer bikeability (cycling proficiency for those over a certain age) trainer. I volunteered at our school to take the training to be able to get kids through the newly launched cycling proficiency course to instil some road sense and hopefully get more kids using their bikes and feeling more confident about it.

The training was held in Glenrothes and I took a wee saunter during lunch seeing as the weather wasn't going to let me get a wee skate in. It turns out Glenrothes has a bit of a relationship with Hippos. The town centre has a number of Hippos on display that are part of their Hippo parade which I assume is similar to the Cow Parade where in-animate Hippos are painted by various people from around the region.

There are a couple of stone hippos in one of the parks in Glenrothes that I know of and I found out from one of our trainers that these were a gift from the city of Böblingen, a city in Baden-Württemberg in Germany, that Glenrothes is twinned with, hence the fascination.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.