Raising Awareness

A few weeks ago I received an email from Cancer Research UK asking if I'd be prepared to share my story and become a media volunteer to help  promote the Race for Life and Pretty Muddy events.  As you know, one of the main things I've wanted to do since my diagnosis, is to raise awareness, so I completed an online questionnaire.

Anyway, this morning I received an email from Lynn, their Regional Press Manager, asking if she could call me to have a chat about the details of my treatment and how there's life after cancer.  So we arranged for her to phone me tonight and she said one the main things she was interested to discuss was how when I lived in Belgium I received yearly mammograms, compared to here where I had to push to get one, on the basis that I was 50 and my mum had had breast cancer.  We chatted about my diagnosis and treatment and Lynn asked me to send her a photograph wearing my Race for Life tee-shirt so that she could prepare the press release for tomorrow.  I should hopefully get it in the morning and once I've confirmed I'm happy with it, she'll send it to the local newspaper.  Then on the day of the race, she'll  be present to take photos as we come down the muddy slide!

At lunch time I went to the beach with Anne, and took a couple of photos, and had planned to use one of those as my blip, but after my call with Lynn, I thought it was more appropriate to use this picture.  The others are in my extras.

It's been a lovely evening and we actually sat in the Summer House to eat tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.