Ice Queen

My sister and I went to the funeral of an old and dear family friend in our home village. David had a good send-off, the church was packed. I noticed for the first time this line from Abide With Me. "Who like Thyself my guide and stay can be?" It reminded me of the Queen saying of Prince Philip, "He has, quite simply, been my strength & stay all these years." I also noticed that that in Psalm 23, where I am accustomed to singing, "My table Thou hast fur-nish-ed" we sang, "My table Thou hast furnished me." I'm not religious or a churchgoer but I enjoy belting out hymns and hearing passages from the Bible as they used to be when I was young. I'm not too keen on, "In my Father's house there are many rooms." I prefer, "In my Father's house there are many mansions" as it was when I was a child.


My pic is of my lime, soda and ice at the wake. I noticed a rainbow in the ice, probably contaminated with a drop of machine oil or something. The image puts me in mind of Queen Victoria. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.