Midsummer Marmalade

I went out with the camera fairly early to beat the heat. You can tell from my image that it was taken before midday as the goat's beard flower is still open. Another name for this is Jack-go-to-bed-at-noon as the flowers close at noon. A hoverfly seemed very interested in the bloom, I think it's a marmalade.

MrQ and I were laid low all day. I went out at 10:00 pm with my 1.4 lens on looking for a bush that looked like a bear, having read today's poem. It was quite magical walking under the shrubs on the bank of the lake at that time with the scent of honeysuckle and mock orange hanging in the air. I did pick a fern leaf and photograph its reverse but I didn't approach it backwards without looking so I doubt that I have been rendered invisible. :)

Today's poem is from A Midsummer Night's Dream Act V Scene i http://shakespeare.mit.edu/midsummer/midsummer.5.1.html

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.