Behind Blue Eyes

I've taken pics of damselflies every which way over the years. I amused myself today by doing something different. Taking photographs from behind, some of them from underneath the insect but still focusing on their eyes. I was delighted to find and tog a banded demoiselle on my own property in exactly the same position as I saw one a few years ago. Lots of other damselflies breed in the lake but the banded really prefer rivers and streams.

Jazzy was happy today. Her 'sister' (our daughter) visited. They haven't seen each other for ages. When I told clever Jazz that Sarah was coming she cocked her head excitedly and ran towards the gate. :)

Today's poem is And You, Helen by Edward Thomas. http://ww1lit.nsms.ox.ac.uk/ww1lit/collections/item/2846

ET was a lover of the countryside and walked with Robert Frost, whose poem The Road Not Taken was inspired by ET's indecisiveness on which route to take. His wife Helen was attracted to his 'melancholic beauty' and it transpired that he was plagued with agonies of spirit throughout his life. The poem is one of regret that he hadn't treated Helen better and that because of him she hadn't reached her own potential.       

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.