Father's Day

I had a lovely surprise visit from my son today for Father's Day.  He drove all the way to South Hertfordshire from Bristol just to join me in watching the Grand Prix and then to enjoy an excellent roast dinner which my wife had prepared. A great afternoon.

My daughter had bought me this spoof on the old children's Ladybird books.  It is highly amusing, based on some of the original artwork used in these books.  One illustration is of a toddler climbing stairs.  The text reads:
"Peter has taught Tandy to climb the stairs.  In the coming years, he will teach her to walk, swim, ride a bike and drive a car.  At 35 she will finally take the hint and leave."

There are many more similar themes, accurately reflecting (I think) the role of the modern Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.