The Gated Glade

I took a slow start to the day and split my time between watching the Olympics road race and the lads playing cricket. No results to celebrate in any department, but I guess the highlight was seeing the incredible support out on the roads in London and the Surrey countryside. Quite phenomenal to witness so many people getting excited about cycling. It was always going to be a tough task for Cav today as such a favourite. Nobody was going to do the Brits any favours.

The really annoying thing was the completely hopeless BBC commentary. Not the commentators fault reallly (although it does seem strange that I could identify riders on the TV screen that they didn't seem able to), but the ridiculous lack of information being fed back from the course. Did no planning take place? I'm an enormous fan of the BBC, but they let us down badly today. Here was an opportunity to bring the thrill of road racing to whole new demographic, but I suspect the majority of people new to the sport were left thoroughly confused!

I might have been a bit harsh on the Queen last night, perhaps not making sufficient allowance for her age, but, even so, just one flicker of a smile would have been lovely. At least I haven't had a knock at the door and hauled away for treason. I might have been if I had said what I really thought about Paul McCartney, who also seems now to be well past his sell-by date!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.