Stepping Stones

I guess occasionally it's useful to have a weekend when you don't get too far and spend time at home to catch up with outstanding jobs. This is the first such weekend I've had in a very long while. I don't think I've been further away than 2 miles from home all weekend! I had a very relaxed blip day yesterday and just took a couple of shots while cycling between the two cricket clubs where the boys were playing. Today I went for a run on the moor on an evening of great light and dramatic clouds and returned with a plethora of potential blips.

I had a list of things I wanted to achieve this weekend and I've only made a small dent in that list. I had intended to have a big catch-up on blip but I'm afraid that got overtaken by the Olympics! The women's road race was riveting. We had a local interest here in that Lizzie Armistead is a local girl from Otley, the next town down the valley. It's not unusual to see her out training on the local roads. She always has a smile on her face and returns your wave. She rode a fantastic race today and really couldn't have done anything more. I'm sure I was not alone in trying to help drive her bike faster towards that finish line this afternoon. The Silver was still a great result. Lizzie, you did us proud!

So, many thanks for all the great comments from this last week, and apologies to the many friends here I've not visited in a while. The trouble with living in a house with two sports mad sons is that the games are always going to be on and it's very hard not to get sucked into whatever contest is being shown. Each one is a piece of high drama for the competitors involved. And I get involved too. I can't help myself. I'm going to have to be very careful in managing my time over this next couple of weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.