Above Rocky Valley

I've taken many shots from this spot but I've never really been able to get one to do full justice to the drama of the view here, looking east above Rocky Valley. Tonight the clouds cleared to leave an evening of intense light. I tried for ages to get a photograph without my own shadow being incorporated. It proved to be near impossible and this was the best I managed to achieve.

I realise that I prefer my landscapes to be devoid of any reference to the human element, although I'm aware that people can often lend a valuable sense of scale and a point of interest. I suppose it's a bit like those adventure documentaries which are shot as if it is just one man against the elements and you are persuaded to forget that there is a whole film crew around. We indulge the conceit. I guess I like landscapes to be seen as if there was no human intrusion upon the scene - even in the shape of the photographer!

Instead of laying down on the edge of the crag and keeping a low profile (although not quite low enough), perhaps I should have just stood up and revealed myself standing on the crag. Would that have been a better shot? More authentic perhaps? I suppose it would simply be a different kind of photograph.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.