earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Cracoe Fell

It has been an almost perfect day. After pushing myself to the limit last Saturday over one of the highest passes in the Alps, most of today has been spent sitting in the sun watching my lads play cricket. It's not been too easy to see them this season because up until now they have been in different teams. Based upon the toss I've either headed to the home game or the away game, trying to gauge the best place to be to see them perform. I've often missed the key moments while in transit cycling between their games!

I am feeling very much the proud Dad tonight. Knowing that, you don't need to read further unless you're interested in cricket! No.1 son has has not had much opportunity to either bat or bowl in the firsts, so he has dropped down to the seconds to spend some time in the middle and find some form. We (Ben Rhydding that is) were playing Upper Wharfedale at Grassington, and there can be few more magnificent settings for a game of cricket in the entire world! I chose this shot today mostly because this was the view I was able to look out on all afternoon if I turned my gaze away from the pitch.

We won the toss and inserted the opposition. No.2 son shared the opening duties and bowled beautifully without any luck. He is limited because of his age to 7 overs and only conceded 7 runs in those, not bowling a single bad ball. His left arm swing was then replaced my No.1 son's right arm off spin. He bowled a few too many loose balls today but was also unlucky not to get a wicket. After his spell of 9 overs he gave way to No.2 son again who bowled another 7 overs without giving anything away. I think only 24 runs were scored off his 14 overs, with most of those off the edge. I'm sure I will never seem him bowl better and not get a wicket. His bowling has come on leaps and bounds this season and I'm dead proud of him. He's worked really hard at his game. No.1 son then came back on to have 2 final overs and picked up a consolation wicket off a bad ball! It's often the way. Upper Wharfedale finished on 197-6.

With short boundaries and a fast outfield we were confident that we could chase this target down. No.1 son opened the batting and played beautifully, building an innings steadily and accelerating as the bowlers tired. We slipped behind the rate a little just after the drinks interval but put the foot down with 10 overs left to get there with a few overs to spare and only 3 wickets down. My lad didn't quite get his hundred as his partner at the end bludgeoned a too few many boundaries. He finished on 93 not out, and came off the field exhausted, but with a big smile on his face. I also had a big smile on my face! One of my lads was either bowling or batting for the course of the entire match.

I was able to then enjoy a beautiful cycle back home on a perfect evening, chancing across some friends on the way home for a bit of company. To cap it all, Stuart Broad got a hat-trick in the test match against India, setting up what should be a scintillating day's cricket tomorrow. May the sun carry on shining. A perfect day indeed. I just now need to cook myself some dinner. I don't expect to see the boys until tomorrow morning. They like to celebrate victories in style!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.