Defeated

Today I was told that Olivier is finally ear-infection free, for the first time since last fall.

Today I was also told that he no longer is considered as having a speech delay. The fact that he can sometimes do 3-word sentences was a pretty good sign.

Today I was told by students that they appreciate my teaching, and they also asked me if I was teaching the following course in their cursus in September. I don't know. But I'd love to.

Today, by all account, was therefore a great day. I even managed to take a shower while Olivier roamed about (and didn't do anything foolish).

Then why do I feel defeated?
Because I'm tired. Because I sometimes have to deal with other people's anger and issues and it gets too much. I'm not good with conflict. I tend to disappear. Even if it destroys me.

But it's also because, for the past 3 months, I've been trying to get pregnant, and the hormones are messing me up. You're not supposed to say that, especially when you're my age, and single. But here it is: fertility drugs are hard on your body and your mind. Hiding it serves no purpose. Just like hiding a miscarriage is counterproductive. I'm crossing my fingers and hoping that next month, it'll finally work. Because today I feel defeated and it's not a good feeling to have, even when you are lucky enough to have this wonderful and crazy little human being calling you Maman and giving you wet kisses full of trust.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.