The day starts with coffee

It certainly does for me; unless I have an early morning run or cycle ride. Then the coffee follows. My morning routine during the week is to make a pot of coffee, which provides a mug for me to have with my muesli, a mug for S, and another mug for me, heated in the microwave and put in a "Keep Cup" to take with me in the car as I drive to work.

Shortly after I leave for work, I drive past a cafe (Crumb) which opens early and attracts early customers. Some have driven their cars into the central city from West Auckland, and then park in residential streets near to the city (free parking) and then take a short bus ride to where they want to be. A coffee, and even a cafe breakfast helps the day start well.

Others are locals who just prefer espresso coffee to other methods of brewing coffee. They come before heading off on their way to work.

On the weekends Crumb is a gathering place for young parents with their ankle biters. It has become a social focal point.

Crumb is in what was once a corner dairy. The old villa on this corner site had an extension added at a level below the main house level. Some years ago S and I looked at it with a view to adapting the ex-corner dairy (at that time another bedroom connected to the main house) to use as a consulting room attached to a house in which we could stay. For a number of reasons we chose not to proceed. 

Life has interesting twists and turns.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.