THE MOTHER OF PEARL...

...arrived by post from Germany today cut perfectly to size & with very little adjustment I whacked them in with my magic "dead head" hammer & super-glued them.

Next came the painful part - sanding everything down flush. The fingerboard of this old Fender Jazz Bass has a 9.5" radius. So - with the 9.5" radius block furnished with a wicked 80 grit sandpaper I beavered away until  all the outstanding MOP & glue had disappeared.
.
The thing with MOP is that it's quite toxic & the minute particles get up your nose & into your mouth & in no time at all you have this vile taste which makes all food, drink or cigarettes taste foul!

Anyway, next I used 150 Grit, followed by 240, then 400 & 800 & a buffing wheel which gives a pretty perfect shine.

For once I seem to have captured the colours :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.