Migrant in Moscow

By Migrant

Pentecost

It's Orthodox Pentecost week this week - 50 days after Easter.  Hence the tradition of green hay on the floor.  I had to sneak in this blip through the doorway as photography is generally frowned upon in the church in Russia (and most other places too, I think).

[This image was taken in the Greater Church of the Ascension which I blipped yesterday. Its not often that I blip the same place on two days running however I happened to be back in the area again today. When I left the church yard yesterday, a beggar standing at the gate wished me "с праздником" ("s prazd'nikom") which is the generic Russian greeting meaning, roughly, "wishing you a happy event". I couldn't figure out what event he was referring to but of course today it all made sense.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.