WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Shade

With LoJardinier and Bundle in Pézenas today. Even if they are somewhat lapsed blippers, I still think it counts as a blipmeet, since I would never have met them if it wasn't for Blipfoto. It was lovely to see them both again. A leisurely lunch in the shade, and then a stroll through the magnificent streets and courtyards -- Pézenas was effectively the capital of the Languedoc on the 17th century and anyone with pretentions to grandeur had to have a house there. LoJ was able to give us a bit of a guided tour, and thanks to him we discovered a British artist who had an exhibition of exceptional watercolours, a shop that sold literally thousands of different kinds of beads, and a workshop where silk was being woven on an 18th-century Jacquard loom. I was bowled over to see the original punched cards still being used to make the patterns -- Jacquard looms are the forerunners of modern computers. The prices were very reasonable too -- both Bundle and I succumbed and had to buy beautiful scarves. 

Once LoJ had headed off to water his garden, Bundle and I continued to stroll, and visited the door museum -- an amazing warren of rooms crammed with ancient doors -- and a shop where fragments of Indian wedding saris had been sewn together to make fabulous multicoloured shawls and wraps, also very tempting! We tore ourselves away, but I was unable to stop myself clearing out the last of my cash on a lovely and very cheap yellow jug from the pottery in this square. It may be blipped! Just as well I only go to Pézenas once a decade or so -- it's full of lovely shops. Flickr album here.

Finally I headed back home to be met by an aggrieved cat who wonders why he never sees me nowadays. I think I may have to stay at home and work tomorrow. Meanwhile, S is sweltering in the Basque country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.